“Scott Walker’s ‘The Tank’ Runs on Empty”

I will allow that once The Tank gets going, the thing rips; the monster design is sleek, the monster action is vicious, and Scott Walker allows for very little slack as they aggress on the main characters. But there’s so much meaningless, flabby story junk clogging up the engine here that there’s precious little time left once the ripping begins. If I cared about the characters enough, the disproportionate ratio of stuff that rips to stuff that clogs wouldn’t bother me as much. I don’t care about the characters enough. I don’t care, for instance, that the film’s setting is the male protagonist’s childhood home, and that the monsters durdling around in the tank in question are responsible for the disappearance of his sister in childhood. It’s a whole lot of puffery for holding up a plot that simply doesn’t need it.

You can read my whole review over at Paste Magazine.

Leave a comment