“‘Sisu’ Review: Jalmari Helander’s WWII Action Film Makes History Fun… And Incredibly Gory”

I make mention of this in my review of Jalmari Helander’s Sisu, but: We’ll never run out of World War II stories to tell or World War II movies to make, because the world is very big. Time, though, is bigger. People have started making contemporary WWII movies already – movies set in the present day, whose plots are impacted by the war’s events – and I imagine that we can do much better than Remember.

It will, however, take many, many productions for us to stall out on new territory to explore in WWII-set cinema, and for me that’s what makes Sisu valuable: it’s a lesson in a part of the European theater not often taught*. Also, Nazis get stabbed in the head.

You can read my full review over at The Playlist.


*Here in the U.S., anyway, though I’ll admit it’s been a long time since I was in middle or high school.

Leave a comment