“With ‘Talk to Me,’ Directors Leap From Phone Screens to the Big Screen”

I sorely wish I had more chances to write pieces like this for the New York Times*; a cross-subject profile like this is so much in my wheelhouse and suits my experience and knowledge really, really well. Who knew the guys who made the “Cookie Monster mutilates the Power Rangers” video had something this refined in them**?

For this, I had the pleasure of speaking to the brothers Philippou, Danny and Michael, whose Aussie accents took me back to the days when I hung out with Aussies in Vermont, and also gave me new ways to appreciate Talk to Me‘s filmmaking and aesthetic. I also spoke with Samantha Jennings, one of their producers; and Julia Alexander, who you should read if you care at all or have questions about the streaming industry. She’s the best of the best in that game. 

Meanwhile, I’m pretty darn good at this sort of thing, so you should read my piece for the Times.


*Anyone, really, but especially the Times, because they pay better.
**Totally me, yeah, that’s the ticket, I had every expectation that this is the kind of first feature they would make.

Leave a comment