“The Wood Brothers’ ‘Heart Is the Hero’ Puts Compassion in Charge”

I let myself go overboard with organ metaphors and smartassery in my first draft of this review, so thank goodness for editors who know how to redirect my ADHD like Hercules diverting rivers through the Augean stables. 

Not that I really have an excuse for meandering so far away from the point of the review, of course, other than my “just get the damn draft done” approach to writing; my thinking is that it doesn’t matter if the draft sucks, because I have good editors who leave good notes, and then I come back in the morning and all I have to do (usually) is just click on “accept change” a bunch of times. This makes me sound lazy. The truth is, it makes me sound like a writer. It isn’t a glamorous job, but look at it this way: In my case it isn’t a job at all!

You can read my full review of Heart is the Hero over at No Depression.

Leave a comment