Posted on March 1, 2017

TV Review: Taboo, Episode 1.08

TV Review: Taboo, Episode 1.08


I’m officially free of my Taboo-reviewing duties, at least until the next series (because there are two more, apparently, which is as much a surprise to me as it might be to you all) goes to air in 2018, presumably. If I’m being honest, I’m going to miss writing about this thing; I wouldn’t say I … Continue reading

Best of Criterion’s Releases, February 2017

Best of Criterion’s Releases, February 2017


Instead of talking about the Oscars, let’s talk about The Criterion Collection’s excellent slate of February releases, including Kirsten Johnson’s Cameraperson, which deserved at least a nomination in the Documentary category (but of course could never have gotten one, because it is not in any way an AMPAS film). For me, it’s all about Mildred Pierce, the … Continue reading