Interview: Karyn Kusama, “The Invitation”

untitled_1-174-1

I trust in my critical faculties to interpret the films that I watch, and for good reason, because my critical faculties are pretty fucking awesome, but there is something to be said for having my eyes opened by the perspectives of other people. In the case of The Invitation, which I clearly dug, “other people” means Karyn Kusama, who directed the film. This is sort of like cheating, of course, like sneaking a peek at your smartphone during pub trivia or writing the answers to your math quiz on the palm of your hand, but hey: If I can get access to a film’s architect, I’m going to pick their brain. You would too. Don’t be judgin’ me.

Anyways. My Movie Mezzanine interview with Kusma is pretty great, if I do say so myself. You’ll have to read it on your own to see if you agree. 

Leave a comment