Best Of Criterion’s New Releases, December 2016

heartofadog633x356

The last Paste Magazine Criterion round-up of 2016 published just after the New Year, and that’s just fine. What’s not fine is Heart of a Dog, a movie that I can’t bring myself to beat up on but which I didn’t really like; it’s one of those critical darlings I can’t help but give a thorough interrogation, not because I don’t believe Laurie Anderson knows what she wants to say, because she does, but because I can’t really hang with the way she’s saying it from start to finish. Your mileage with the film may vary; experimentation breeds different results from individual to individual. Oddly, I still recommend it, but go read the round-up for more deets.

Leave a Reply

