Interview: Ira Sachs, “Little Men”

little_men

I didn’t put Ira Sachs’ Little Men on my top ten of the year thus far list, but if I’d revisited it before seeing Mike Birbiglia’s Don’t Think Twice, it might have ended up at least in the ten slot, and possibly higher. It’s one of the films in 2016 that comes as close to perfect as possible, and I’m not just saying that because I sat down with Sachs during this year’s Independent Film Festival Boston to chat about the film, and his approach to filmmaking. (You know that, though, right?) 

Little Men opened in theaters earlier this month. If it’s playing near you, I highly recommend it. The film is beautifully shot, a real human drama observed with enormous heart and consideration. Sachs may be working in an intimate scale, but Little Men feels like a towering achievement all the same. Pray read my full interview with him, which is available on Paste Magazine.

Leave a Reply

