Go, See, Talk! Review: Detention, 2012, dir. Joseph Kahn

You may remember some weeks back that I happened into an opportunity to participate in a round table interview the effervescent Joseph Kahn regarding his second feature film, the multi-genre mind-bending slasher-time travel-teen drama-comedy-kung fu-cultural commentary bonanza, Detention. Well, it’s Friday the 13th– and that means that not only am I barring my doors to keep Jason Voorhees out, but also that my review is going live over on GoSeeTalk. If my bits in the round table don’t make it clear or even hint at it, I love Detention; it remains, after four viewings, one of my favorite movies of 2012 and a piece of cinema we should be talking about for a long, long time. Click it here to flip on over to GST to get my full thoughts on the film, and join the conversation!

5 thoughts on “Go, See, Talk! Review: Detention, 2012, dir. Joseph Kahn

  1. Im guessing they sent you a screener for the film, considering you’ve seen it four times.

    Listene to Kahn on the /Filmcast – eccentric fellow, should make for an interesting film.

    • Yep. I actually have it on my desk right now.

      I listened to the first /Filmcast with Kahn on it; I’ll listen to the other one when I get the chance. He was a blast to interview, and those podcasts underscore why in a big way. Hope that someday I get the chance to talk to him again.

  2. Pingback: Duke & The Movies :: With A Little Help From my Friends

  3. I listened to the /Film podcast about this film this morning, and it really wetted my appetite for this film – especially as they compared it to Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, although I doubt it’ll come out anywhere near me. I fear I’ll have to wait until it’s released on DVD/BR.

Leave a Reply

