A Blog By Any Other Name…

Since I first started this blog in 2009, it’s undergone a number of geneses both superficial and substantive. For the most part these have been surface changes– those of you who have been here from the start likely can attest to the ridiculous number of face-lifts this site has enjoyed before recently, when I settled on this particular theme. (And even that’s not set in stone.) And then there are the name-changes, though there mercifully have only been two: Andrew At the Cinema and, today, A Constant Visual Feast. I give occasional thought to whether these changes have helped or hurt my overall viewership (I tend to conclude on the latter note) and even to this very day I frequently mull over ways I can improve my blog’s image and marketability. After all, the goal isn’t just to write but also to be read, right?

Well, at this point you might see where I’m going with this. That’s right: A Constant Visual Feast is changing names. Again. This time, I think I’ve got a winner on my hands, though I’m also putting it you guys out there on the Interwebs to put in your two cents as well. That’s right; I actually want to know what you think of the new name. So without any further ado, I give you…

C.R.U.M.P. (Critical Reviews Unraveling Motion Pictures)

This came after a brainstorming session with my wife, whose endless support has actually helped keep this blog alive on more than one occasion and also helped lead me to realize that film writing is something I want to do with my life, as well as my in-laws, whose combined talents for fashioning functional acronyms were the definition of clutch in final legs of the creative process. Combined, the fruits of our labor led to an acronym of my last name.

Keep in mind the following: I want the name to be punchy and unique and yet still have something to say about movies and give readers an idea of what they should expect from my site. I doubt I’d make the above line the blog’s whole title, since that just goes on forever (who knew you could make such a mouthful out of such a simple surname?), but it’d definitely be a byline.

So with all that said– what do you guys think? Like it? Hate it? Ambivalent? Weigh in with your thoughts!

10 thoughts on “A Blog By Any Other Name…

  1. I’m not fond of CRUMP. A Constant Visual Feast is really catchy and unusual, which brought me here in the first place. It has a certain style and flair, and also tells the reader a little bit about what this blog is all about. CRUMP sounds like CHUD, but in that case, it’s a reference to a cheesy horror film–perfect for its subject matter. If you do feel you need to change the title, you may want to think about something that really captures the feel that you want and also tells people exactly what to expect.

    filmverse.wordpress.com

    • The thing about A Constant Visual Feast is that while it could pertain to film, it could also be a number of other things– a photographer’s personal blog for displaying their work, a food blog, a cartoon blog. I’m admittedly pretty fond of the name, but I would like to find something punchier that speaks much more directly to what I’m all about.

      I actually share the same concern about C.R.U.M.P. being too close to CHUD.

  2. I think maybe you could press yourself and come up with a better “U” for your acronym than unraveling if you decide to go in that direction.

    Other than that don’t ask me.

    My two attempts at solving your dilemna have resulted in:

    Fogs’ Movie Reviews – Clever, no? The word you’re looking for is WORDSMITH

    Title Pending – (my podcast) Clever AND a cop out, both at once.

    So, yeah, I’d like to help man, but I dont think I have it in me.

Leave a Reply

